Secretary’s Challenge

Posted: March 27, 2007 in Weight

Monday fitness day

OK this is a day late SUE ME!

Yesterday was my fitness day here on the BLOG. I mentioned last week that I would give stats, so you will find my weekly stats at the bottom of this post.

What I wanted to talk about today is a voluntary event I participated in yesterday. It is called the Secretary’s Challenge.  

It is an initiative that the current Florida Department of Corrections Secretary has established. I personally think it is a great idea. Here are the program goals:

1. A more physically fit workforce that is better prepared to meet emergencies when they arise
2. Improved productivity
3. Improved attendance
4. Improved employee health resulting from being physically fit
5. Reduced healthcare costs
6. Improved employee appearance, self esteem, and professional pride
7. Improved general sense of well-being
8. A safer environment for employees and inmates

There were two time yesterday for people participate in the challenge 9:00 AM and 4:00PM. I competed at 4:00, but also went to the 9:00 o’clock session to watch Secretary McDonough. HE IS A MONSTER!!!!!! I will not reveal his stats until he releases them first, but I will say that for a 60 year man he is great physical shape.

The contest consisted of 3 events push-ups, curl-ups (sit-ups), and 1.5 mile run. We divided into pairs for the push-ups and sit-ups. One person would do the exercise and the other would verify that s/he was doing the action properly and a keep count for the person doing the action. Both push-ups and sit-ups have a 2 minute time limit. The 1.5 mile run was 6 laps around the track with a running clock.

My Secretary’s Challenge stats

Push-Ups: 38
Curl-Ups: 41
1.5 mile run: 13:13

This week’s personal stats

Weight: 236
Waist: 38/39 inches

Comments
  1. […] Secretary’s Challenge. This was the first this event happened and I am glad that I was able to be a part of it. I am […]

Leave a Reply

